SF Wine Blog

Exploring wine in and around San Francisco.

Back from one harvest and off to the next!

Leave a comment

After 10 weeks on the road, I finally got back to California earlier this week. During my time abroad, I visited over 50 wineries, worked, harvest in Burgundy, and met some incredible people along the way. There are many stories to tell, and I’ll be sure to write a recap at some point. But no rest for the weary — I’ve filled up my “down time” with two very exciting opportunities to add to my wine studies.

First, later tonight, I will be on the floor of Foreign Cinema restaurant in the Mission, shadowing wine director Zach Pace.  Many thanks to 18 Reasons‘ Sommelier Summer School for making this possible. More on the course later, but I wanted to invite you to stop by Foreign Cinema tonight — grab some grub, drink some wine, and say hi!

Second, I am very excited to announce that starting Saturday, I will be helping the team at Arnot-Roberts with Harvest 2011.  I am absolutely thrilled to have this opportunity to intern with one of my favorite wineries.  As many of you know, Arnot-Roberts has gained a great reputation not only for making some beautiful wines from traditional varietals (Syrah, Cabernet Sauvignon, and Chardonnay), but also for seeking out some more esoteric grapes, including Trousseau and Ribolla Gialla.  I’ve admired the creative energy at Arnot-Roberts for a long time, and am very excited to be part of the wine making process this year.  For more on Arnot-Roberts, check out these posts:

Anyhow, I will be spending a lot of time in Healdsburg over the next month, and I hope to see some of you in the area for cocktails at Spoonbar, burgers on the patio of HBG, or beers at John & Zeke’s. God knows I’ll need them after some late nights at the winery!

I do plan on getting the weekly updates up and running again soon, so stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

