SF Wine Blog

Exploring wine in and around San Francisco.

Travel update

Leave a comment

Dear friends,

It has been a little over a month since I boarded a flight from SFO and embarked on a two month wine-filled journey. Over the past few weeks, I’ve explored wine bars in New York and Paris, and visited multiple producers in Champagne, Burgundy, and the Mosel Valley. Despite some road bumps here and there, it has been an amazing experience.

I’ve been overwhelmed by the numerous warm, engaging, and insightful wine industry professionals I have met along the way. At every stop, there have been winemakers, sommeliers, importers, and many others who have been more than willing to meet up, help schedule tastings, and share their view on wine. I have also been touched by the number of emails and tweets from friends and family who have cheered me on in my voyage, and provided helpful hints on places to go. I feel unbelievably grateful for having stumbled upon a warm and inviting community of industry professionals, and for the friends I’ve made during my self-directed wine studies.

Rest assured, once I have a chance to catch my breathe, I will be giving a full report on the cities and regions I’ve visited. But for now, I just wanted to say, “Thanks.”

Cheers,
– John

PS – The picture above was taken in Montagne de Reims (Champagne).

Leave a Reply

