SF Wine Blog

Exploring wine in and around San Francisco.

Wine Events: Week of September 24

2 Comments

My most sincere apologies for getting this weekly update out a little later than usual, but I’ve been a bit distracted as of late.  First, as I’m sure y’all are aware, there’s a little thing called harvest gong on in California and Burgundy right now, and even though I’m not directly involved this year (sigh), I can’t seem to tear myself away from reading every single update and article I can find on the topic.  I tried to get my fix by sneaking up to Healdsburg a few weeks ago to help out with a little grape treading and to grill up some lunch for some hungry harvest workers.  But I still find myself jones-ing for more info and more involvement on the harvest front. Second, as a political junkie and former staffer on two presidential campaigns (both involving incumbents), I’m currently obsessed with the current horse race.  In short, two of my life’s passions have kicked into high gear at the same time, and as a result, I’m suffering from some serious ADD.

I’m hoping that attending some of these events will help calm my nerves.

********************

Wed. Sept. 26:  LIOCO wine dinner at Local Mission Eatery (Mission) 

Local Mission Eatery
3111 24th Street
San Francisco, CA

Four courses $36 (plus $18 for wine pairing)

LIOCO co-founder Matt Licklider will be pouring three different wines in the Mission tonight, including the 2010 Russian River Chardonnay, the 2010 Anderson Valley Pinot Noir, and the 2011 “Sativa” blend (which I’m assuming is a new blend, and a play off of their delicious Indica blend).  Full menu here.

********************

Thurs., Sept. 27:  Sicilian Wines @ Arlequin (Hayes Valley)

Arlequin Wine Merchants
384 Hayes Street
San Francisco, CA

6:00pm – 8:00pm – $20

Island wines / wines from volcanic soils have become popular themes for wine tastings in the Bay Area.  Get a bit of both Thursday night as Arlequin pours a selection of Sicilian wines from Arianna Occhipinti, COS, Marco de Batoli and others.  Special bonus: get to hang out with Jeff Vierri from Farm Wine Imports.

********************

Thurs., Sept. 27:  Blind Tasting Seminar – Price vs. Value @ Ferry Plaza (FiDi)

Ferry Building
San Francisco, CA

6:30pm – 8:30pm – $65 (click on link above for ticket information)

Ferry Plaza Wine Merchant’s Peter Granoff leads you through a blind tasting with the goal of “considering the relationship between value and price.” Interesting, no?

********************

Sat., Sept. 29:  Burgundy Tasting at SF Wine Trading Co. (Bernal)

San Francisco Wine Trading Co.
250 Taraval
San Francisco, CA

2:00pm – 5:30pm – $10

Interesting line-up for Saturday’s Burgundy tasting at SF Wine Trading Co.

  • Lucien Boillot, Volnay “Caillerets” 1er Cru
  • Domaine Harmand Geoffroy, Gevrey Chambertin “Lavaux Saint Jacques” 1er Cru
  • Domaine Robert Chevillon, red Nuits St.-Georges “Perrieres” 1er Cru
  • Meo-Camuzet, Marsannay Bourgogne rouge
  • Domaine des Croix, Beaune Bourgogne rouge
  • Trenel, white Saint Veran “Hommage à Andre Trenel”

********************

Sat., Sept. 29:  Burgundy Tasting at K&L (SoMa)

K&L Wine Merchants
638 4th Street
San Francisco, CA

12:00pm – 3:00pm

As if you needed more Burgundy.  Wait a minute.  You do.  You definitely need more Burgundy in your life.

2 thoughts on “Wine Events: Week of September 24

  1. I admire your blog so much and hope to have one like it some day. I recently wrote my own post about a series of wine bottle designed around the Seven Deadly Sins. If you would like to take a peek, perhaps follow or just leave a comment on this post, I would greatly appreciate it. I am just starting out and you are already so influential!

    https://clappable.wordpress.com/2012/11/02/seven-deadly-beverage-designs/

Leave a Reply

